BOHOL: Chocolate Hills, Tarsiers, Snakes & More!

My friend and I went to Cebu for the famous Sinulog festival. As we had 5 full days in Cebu City, we decided to give one whole day for a Bohol trip.

Travel date: Jan 2014

It costs around P3,000 per person for the whole day trip. The cost accounts for the round trip sea transfer (fast ferry) that takes around 1 hour and 30 minutes to 2 hours, the JCASS Bohol day tour package, round trip taxi from/to our Cebu accommodation, extra food and other souvenirs.

My friend and I got up early to take the first ferry to Bohol. The seaport was nice, it was clean and it was air conditioned. When we got on the ferry, I asked my friend if we could sit outside so we can experience the fresh air and the view. I did not want to stay inside the air conditioned cabin as enclosed in-motion sea transport gives me headaches.

Cebu View from Fast Ferry

Cebu View from Fast Ferry

As the ferry went on its way, we saw the island of Cebu from afar. It was a great view in the morning.

TIP: If you’re planning a DIY tour, you can purchase discounted ferry tickets (Cebu to Bohol with Ocean Jet) in advance via KKDay!

As we got off the boat, you will see a lot of porters and people with placards. Placards that inform prices of tour packages and others were names of people who signed up for hotels/tours beforehand like we did. When we saw our names, our assigned tour guide (Kuya Jude) took us to a red car and off we went to start our day tour. He was really funny and he was very informative about all things Bohol.

Here are some of the places we went to:

THE BLOOD COMPACT

Cool monument that depicts a contract signing using blood!

Blood Compact Monument

Blood Compact Monument

CHOCOLATE HILLS

One thing I told my friend when we were here, “Grabe, Pia! Chocolate Hills, dati binabasa lang natin to nung grade school sa textbook, ngayon nandito na tayo.”

“Tsokolateng Burol” as said in my Sibika/Hekasi Book

It was really a great sight! Since our Bohol trip was a little after the Typhoon struck Bohol, some of the tourist structures were damaged. Not the hills though, they were still very beautiful.

Damaged Tourist View Deck at Chocolate Hills

Damaged Tourist View Deck at Chocolate Hills

BUTTERFLY GARDEN

This was really fun. You’d really know that a lot of tourists come here when the Filipino staffs have accents when touring you around. He showed us a lot of butterfly species and we photo played some of the displays.

Butterfly, baby!

Butterfly, baby!

On the Wingssss of Lovee

On the Wingssss of Lovee

MAN MADE FOREST

The man made forest was amazing! I realized that as humans we can really make something great. All the trees made the place so refreshing. Air felt so clean! And the surrounding area was just so magical. This forest was created by many students a long time ago and it has been a popular tourist spot ever since.

Man Made Forest

Man Made Forest

TARSIER SANCTUARY

To be honest, I did not know what tarsiers really were. I just saw them on random post cards when we went to the mall. I thought that they were just normal big eyed monkeys but when I saw them, I did not expect them to be THAT small. When we arrived, staff said there were only 7 and that some were sleeping. They were really cute! My friend & I really tried to get good angled pictures with them.

Pia and the Tarsier

Pia and the Tarsier

THE HANGING BRIDGE

Hanging bridge was just okay. It was a long bridge above a river. It sways a lot so I guess that’s the challenge.

On the Hanging Bridge

On the Hanging Bridge

LOBOC RIVER TOUR

Lunch at Loboc River

Lunch at Loboc River

This is a popular tour because you get to eat while you sail across a river.

Loboc River Falls

Loboc River Falls

There’s music on a boat and you’ll pass by certain points where locals will sing and dance for you. The view was great but the buffet food was not.

Locals singing and dancing for tourists

Locals singing and dancing for tourists

PYTHON SANCTUARY

Yellow Snake!

Yellow Snake!

This was really fun and scary! Don’t worry, the pythons are tamed so they’ll just lie there while you take a picture.

Python!

Python!

BACLAYON CHURCH

During the day tour, we passed by a lot of churches damaged by the typhoon. It was really sad to see old churches destroyed but you can see people still displaying religious statues and constructing to bring it back to its accommodating state.

Damaged Church from Typhoon

Damaged Church from Typhoon

One of the churches I loved is the Baclayon Church where we can see images of different religious figures. One thing I didn’t like is that to go inside the chapel or church, I would have to give a donation. I understand the need for a donation during those times but to ask for it as a requirement to go inside wasn’t right.

Mother Mary's Image at the Church

Mother Mary’s Image at the Church

ALONA PANGLAO BEACH

Beautiful beach!

Beautiful beach!

Panglao beach was so beautiful! I did not expect it to be so nice! I believed that nothing would compare to the sand in Boracay beach but seeing Bohol’s beach, I was wrong. Panglao beach was just as beautiful. My friend and I swam for a bit and took pictures along the white sand.

After all those places, we went back to the seaport for our ferry trip back to Cebu City.

Addition to all the amazing landmarks we went to, travel experiences are always great with friends. The friend I went to Bohol with is a friend I haven’t spent much time with because life got too busy. Opportunities like these are always blessings. Travel does that. It opens our hearts to our friends, it shows us that destinations aren’t the only things that are amazing but the people we are with during the journey to those destinations also matter. Travel with your friends. Travel with people you haven’t seen for a long time. Travel gratefully.

Bohol was great! Next time I go there, I’ll spend more days at Panglao Beach and try THE PLUNGE! Can’t wait!

Bohol Day Trip c/o Jcass Bohol Tour Packages – Please contact 09178664182 (Miss Maureen) or 09173565858 (Kuya Jude – Tour Driver) for cheap Bohol tours!

I am very grateful for all the money I paid for these travel blessings:

Round trip transportation from/to Cebu accommodation

Seaport fees

Roundtrip Ferry from/to Bohol

JCASS Bohol Day Tour Package (Includes Fees, Lunch & Transportation)

Extra Food, Water and Souvenirs

P3,000

 

Comments

