SERIES: Always Be Grateful! With Your Own Grateful Travel Bank

‘Always Be Grateful!’ is a series of write ups that provide ideas on how to be more grateful with every day life experiences. The series aims to instill the value of gratitude in any kind of lifestyle, not just travel.

Ever since I was a kid, my grandmother and mom always took us on trips — during holidays, during summer vacation, or any free day that we had as a family. 

Travel the World

Photo Taken From Google Images

At that age, I would always wonder why they would always take us out. I just wanted to stay at home and watch Kenan & Kel and Lizzie McGuire on TV all day.

I never really saw the significance of car rides for long hours and going to different destinations. I never understood why my mom wanted to spend ALL DAY at the beach, it was so freaking hot. I never understood why we had to go to Baguio EVERY Christmas, it was so damn cold.

As I grew older, I got to see the significance of travel in small steps:

  • To rest and get away from the city
  • To visit relatives in the province
  • To spend time with your family and friends doing different activities
  • To help other people
  • To immerse in social responsibility programs

As I grew older, I realized that when I was a kid, I failed to appreciate and be grateful for all the travel experiences I was blessedly given. I realized that I took those trips for granted. 

Later on, I got to appreciate travelling more when I had my first flights:

  • When I was 17 years old, our family went to Boracay
  • When I was 18 years old, our family had our first international flight to Hong Kong

I started to like travelling then.

But what made my travel heart grow 1000x bigger was when my sister and I were given the opportunity to go to Australia in 2010. I just snapped and fell in love with travelling. I read travel blogs and websites, made itineraries, and researched my travel ass off. I did not only look forward to travelling in the future but I looked back on the past as well and started to be grateful for all the travel experiences I have ever had:

  • All those field trips from Grade School to High School, 7 lakes at Laguna or that Biak na Bato cave hopping!
  • Christmas Vacations in Baguio
  • Sudden family weekends at certain destinations
  • And many more

Since 2010, I loved travelling with my family and friends more. I got to be more grateful in every place I’ve been in. I tried to experience each place as much as I can.

When I started working and making my own money, I researched on solo travelling. It was also a great time to start because low cost airlines and accommodations have been popping up everywhere in the world. More people travel and we have more opportunities for low budget travelling.

So, What is a Grateful Travel Bank?

We all know that banks are institutions where we place possessions that are of value. A Grateful Travel Bank is a list of places a person has been to which he or she is grateful for. I value my travel experiences. They are worth more than what I paid for them. This is my concept of a Grateful Travel Bank.

This is my Grateful Travel Bank. I list places I have been to and from time to time, glance at it, and thank the Gratitude universe for the travel blessings and privileges I have been given throughout my life so far.

I have an international account where I list the countries that I have been to other than the Philippines. I also have a local account listing the provinces I have been to in my country. Lastly, I have my dream account. These are places that I am grateful for that I wish to go to and experience in the future.

International Account

[in Countries other than the Philippines]

Local Account

[in Provinces]

Dream Account

 

Australia (Sydney, Brisbane, Mackay, Hamilton Island, Whitehaven Beach)

Cambodia (Siem Reap)

Hong Kong

Japan (Osaka, Kyoto, Nara, Tokyo, Nagoya, Takayama, Shirakawago)

Korea (Seoul)

Macau

Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur)

Singapore

Taiwan (Taipei)

Thailand (Bangkok)

Vietnam (Hanoi)

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! I am very grateful that I have been to 11 out of 196 countries in the world.

Aklan

Aurora

Bataan

Batanes

Batangas

Benguet

Bulacan

Bohol

Camiguin

Cavite

Cebu

Ilocos Norte

Ilocos Sur

La Union

Laguna

Metro Manila

Misamis Oriental

Negros Oriental

Nueva Ecija

Palawan

Pangasinan

Rizal

Tagaytay

Tarlac

Zambales

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! I am very grateful that I have been to 25 out of 82 provinces in the Philippines.

Bora Bora, French Polynesia

New York City, USA

Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Vatican City

Paris, France

London, UK

Reykjavik, Iceland

Southern France

Amanpulo, Philippines

Los Angeles, USA

Auckland, New Zealand

Dublin, Ireland

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! I am very grateful that I will be experiencing these places in the future!

Updated as of April 2016

The Grateful Travel Bank does not end here. It is not just a list. It is also a grateful statement, practice, and achievement. I suggest that you make your own grateful travel bank:

  1. Make a list of all the places you have been to in any format that you are comfortable with.
  2. You can write it in your planner, print and post it on your cork boards, upload as a blog or status, etc.
  3. From time to time, check your grateful travel bank, choose one country (or countries) you have been to or wish to go to and just say this phrase: THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU for the travel experiences I have made (will make) in .
  4. You have to really feel the GRATITUDE in yourself. This can remind you the opportunities you have been given to experience or will experience.
  5. After saying thank you, you can also ask and answer questions like these:
  • What did I learn from that travel experience?
  • Who did I meet during that trip? What did I learn from him or her?
  • Did I do something scary or exciting?
  • Did I get lost?
  • Did I find anything?

Or for your dream accounts, you can imagine and ask:

  • What will I do when I see the northern lights in Iceland?
  • What food will I eat in that place?
  • What kind of culture will I see? How is their culture different from mine?
  • Will I meet a cute guy with abs?

I promise you that you will feel more blessed, more content, more excited and your grateful travel heart will grow 1000x more. Your travel treasures will make you rich in mind and heart.

I thought of this practice because of Rhonda Byrne’s book, The Magic.

Make your own Grateful Travel Bank today!

You can share it with me if you want. If you have your own grateful versions, I would love to see them. Email me at irene.maligat@yahoo.com or comment on this post.

16 thoughts on “SERIES: Always Be Grateful! With Your Own Grateful Travel Bank

  1. Kevin Wagar says:

    Great idea! My family and I always make sure to express our gratitude to each other during our trips. We know that each person is partly responsible for the opportunity to go there and we are all very lucky to be able to experience such amazing things.

    Like

  2. thetravelpockets says:

    Great concept! I have to start building my travel bank for sure. And you’re so right, I didn’t appreciate all the family travels when I was young, but I certainly do now!

    Like

  3. Gala says:

    Wow what a great idea! We all should be very grateful (and thankful!) for all the travel experiences we’ve got so far. You’ve visited a lot of countries in Asia, nice! Maybe you should visit Amsterdam also in the future. It’s my hometown and a lovely European city, I can recommend it to anyone!!!

    X Gala

    Like

  4. Global Brunch says:

    I totally agree, it’s so important to value the experiences we had in the past. Of course every trip is different and some teach us a bigger lesson than others, but that doesn’t mean we can’t be thankful for the opportunity to travel.

    Thanks for sharing,
    Maria

    Like

  5. Amandas_Wanderlust says:

    Great idea for a post – great idea generally! We should all consider ourselves lucky if we get to see a bit of the world. I will star a Grateful Travel Bank today!!

    Like

Comments

