SERIES: Quay Australia x Desi Perkins High Key Sunglasses Review + Dupes

Reviews/Hauls are series of special or sponsored write ups of different products and services featuring lifestyle brands ranging from travel to beauty to food and many more. My experiences with products or services may or may not be the same as yours. For sponsored write ups, all are inspired by my experiences and nothing else. 

First off, I want to say that a YOUTUBE-r made me WANT these sunglasses. Nowadays, influencers ranging from celebrities to bloggers to vloggers and many more become significant marketing strategies for a lot of brands. MINSAN SOBRANG HASSLE kasi nakaka-tempt bumili! HAHAHAHA!

Sometimes, you know in yourself that you don’t NEED it but there’s a void that you somehow need to fill because you’re heavily influenced by a person or something else to make that purchase. HAHAHAHA!

In the past, I gave in to hypes like liquid lipsticks or other beauty products only to regret it after few uses of the purchase. I am human so na-tetempt rin talaga! HAHAHA! Other times, I control myself. I choose to be grateful and just be content with the current blessings that I have.

I found out that the Quay Australia x Desi sunglasses hype started back in June 2016 but I was late to the hype as I only discovered these sunglasses last Dec 2016 through YouTube. I was only watching Nikkietutorials then when I decided to watch another vlogger, Jaclyn Hill. When I watched one of her ‘favorites’ videos that included the High Key sunglasses, I was immediately drawn to it! I didn’t want a pair during those moments but I did want one in the future. When I researched more information about the product, the more I wanted one.

When I saw the price tag, I got sort of sad. Of course, it would be expensive because it carried a name of a popular influencer on social media, Desi Perkins. I didn’t want to spend that kind of money on a pair of sunglasses no matter how I wanted it. I’d rather spend it on a plane ticket or experiences during my trips.

quay-x-desi-1

Desi Perkins, Khloe Kardashian, & Kylie Jenner wearing High Keys! (Photos from Google Images)

WATCH: Quay Australia x Desi Perkins Collaboration Video 

But I did contemplate a few times to buy it through a local online shop that I found on Shopee or through online shopping websites from Australia. In the end, I just looked for affordable dupes.

A few weeks later, a friend and I were talking through chat when she asked me what I wanted as a Christmas gift. I said that I would be grateful for anything that she would give but she insisted that I tell her a specific item. When I told her about the sunglasses, she immediately said yes and asked me for the website. SOBRANG GRATEFUL IN THAT MOMENT TALAGA! She ordered the item and asked for my shipping details. When she told me it was confirmed, I was very happy! She ordered the item through White Fox Boutique on Jan 30 and I got the item directly at my address on Feb 2. There was no need to go to customs/post office to pay any fees and acquire the product. SOBRANG SAYA TALAGA!

I am grateful for sunglasses! Why? 

  • They protect the eyes and the skin around it from harmful UV rays! 
  • They make me see better when it’s too bright! Can’t miss amazing views just because the sun’s out! 
  • They’re make-up for the eyes! Just pop some lipstick, put the sunglasses on and you’ll look so fresh and chic without the effort! 
  • They help me sleep during flights when the cabin lights are on!
  • I get to check out hot men without being too obvious! HAHAHAHA! Kidding! 

Why are you grateful for sunglasses? 😉 Share them in the comments! 

Quay x Desi Perkins High Key (Gold) Sunglasses REVIEW

Product Specifics:

✓Metal frame

✓Polycarbonate flat lens

✓Stainless steel hinges

✓100% UV protection

✓Width – 143mm; Height – 55mm; Nose Gap – 19mm

✓Made in China

✓Adjustable nose pads

✓Double-bridge

✓Oversized mirror lenses

✓Package inclusions: sunglasses & soft case

OMG! I love these sunglasses! When I opened the package and saw the pair, the first thing that I thought of was how CHIC it is! That’s the best word to describe it! The gold lens looks so mesmerizing!

The pair has gold frames and lenses. But when you use it in different environments, the colors reflected off the mirrored lenses are different! SOBRANG GANDA! Sometimes it’s gold, other times it’s rose gold, silver, or even black. It is super flattering! There was an instance when it looked like a subtle gold, I felt like a celebrity. SUPER PRETTY! I like using this outside especially when the sun is bright! The color reflected looks so good! No one can see your eyes through these lenses too! You can cover your dull eye bags or check someone out without them noticing! HAHAHAHA!

The lens smudges easily with fingerprints so you need a microfiber cloth to wipe these away (Sadly, the package does not come with this type of cloth). The sunglasses, for me, are pretty sturdy. I compared it to the high end sunglasses my mom has and it almost has the same quality based on the weight and overall appearance.

WHAT MAKES IT DIFFERENT? The Quay High Keys are aviators so it is a pretty common frame. These ones are just oversized and have mirrored/reflective lenses. The colors in this line are pretty too. The sun hits the lenses well to reflect a lot of nice colors. Desi Perkins also added little triangles as a design on the bottom of the lenses as her unique contribution for the sunglasses. It kind of reminds me of Perrie Edward’s make-up look in her video – Shout Out To My Ex – where she had that little star below her eyes. From afar, the triangles are not really noticeable and can just be considered as a classic oversized aviator.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Standard retail price of the High Keys from Quay Australia is AUD60 = ₱2,275+ per pair. There are no official distributors or retailers of Quay Australia in the Philippines. If you are interested in purchasing a pair, you can buy directly from their website or official retailers like White Fox Boutique (WFB) where my pair came from. WFB is also based in Australia. This, of course, comes with added international shipping and custom (varies on courier) fees. Both these websites charge AUD20 = ₱760+ for shipping. Watch out for sales on these websites by subscribing to their newsletters or following their media platforms so you can save more on your purchase. If you choose this option, one pair can cost you around ₱3,035+.

Serein Makeup Bar is the only online shop with a huge following that I encountered that sells the Quay x Desi High Key sunglasses on hand in the Philippines, other sellers have it pre-ordered and require a down payment. When I found Serein last month, all stocks of the High Keys were sold out but the seller informed me that they re-stock so watch out for that! They sell it at ₱3,500. You can save on shipping when you purchase it through their Shopee account. Save more by using my discount code, click this for more details! 

ARE THEY WORTH IT? These sunglasses, to be honest, are VERY NICE THINGS TO HAVE. If you want to reward yourself with a good pair of sunglasses, I feel that these High Keys are good options. If my friend didn’t give it to me as a gift and I got to see and try them physically (not just through browsing online or reading reviews), I would definitely purchase a pair during a special occasion and when an old pair of sunnies has worn out.

But if you already have a pair of sunglasses especially if it’s an aviator frame, you don’t need to buy one. It is definitely NOT A NEED!

There are so many aviator frames in the market today with a much cheaper cost that can be comparable to the Quay x Desi High Keys. There is just a lot of hype around this pair that’s why it’s tempting especially that it is in collaboration with a popular influencer. This can be comparable to the Kylie Lip Kit hype. The Kylie Lip Kits are nice but there are so many liquid lipstick options out there that are more affordable and have the same result.

If you want that luxurious celebrity feel without investing too much, these Quay x Desi sunglasses are great choices. Here’s a spectrum to help you decide: 

Sunglass range & brands

Budget (ex: Georgina Sasha) Mid-range (ex: Quay Australia) High-end (ex: Ray-Ban)
Price Range ₱300 – ₱400 ₱2,000 – ₱3,000

₱7,000 – ₱8,000

Quay x Desi Perkins High Key Gold

Wearing the #QuayXDesi High Keys in Gold at El Nido Resorts (Left) & Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route (Right)

UPDATE (May 12, 2017): Whether it’s summer or winter, I love wearing the Quay Australia x Desi Perkins High Keys! I love them and I get a lot of compliments when I wear them. What bothers me a bit is that the lenses get smudged easily so I need to wipe it with a microfiber often. After a flight and I put this on, no one comments that I look tired or dull. It’s like make-up for the eyes really! I also love how it shifts from subtle to flashy in different angles.

Quay x Desi High Key Black

I recently received this late birthday gift from a friend! The Quay x Desi Perkins BLACK High Keys! OMG! I am so happy! These are definitely for those who want to pass on some SHADE! DAMN! I’m kidding! HAHAHA! I can’t wait to use these! I’ll try to review this pair soon! 😉 

UPDATE (Sept 6, 2017): I love the Black/Silver High Keys! OMG! THIS GOES WITH EVERYTHING! For the past few months, I tend to reach out for these more than the Gold High Keys. It’s glam but kind of acceptable for any situation (flights, work, trips to the mall, travels, etc). The silver lenses are so blinding! Whenever I use this during family trips, my sisters use the sunglasses as a mirror to check themselves! That’s how reflective they are! HAHAHAHAHA! The screws are pretty tight as well when I place the sunglasses on top of my head. The fit is good. It doesn’t get loose too no matter how many times I use it as a headband! HAHAHAHA! 

A friend gave me another pair of sunglasses from Quay Australia but not from Desi Perkins’ collection. It’s the Stop & Stare sunglasses in Pink/Pink. The screws are pretty loose so when I slide it on the top of my head, it tends to slip. I’ll try to update more about this pair when I use it again! 😉 

Quay x Desi Perkins High Key Sunglasses DUPES

If you want to have a pair of sunnies that is similar to the Quay x Desi Perkins pair, here are a few alternatives that are more affordable and locally available. It’s not really hard to find a dupe for these Quay High Keys as these are just your classic aviators. You just have to find ones that have flattering colors and oversized mirrored/reflective lenses.

Think Pink Aviator (₱349) from Georgina Sasha

OMG! When I opened my package from Georgina Sasha & saw these sunglasses, I really thought I was getting another Quay x Desi Perkins High Key gold sunglasses! Doing a quick glance, the look of it is really similar! I opened this package with my mom and she also saw the resemblance. This aviator has gold frames and almost the same colors of the arms of the High Keys. Both have flat lenses as well. The color of the lenses is slightly different but at some angles it really looks the same!

quay-x-desi-7

Left-Right: Think Pink Aviator by Georgina Sasha; Quay x Desi Perkins High Keys in Gold

The Think Pink aviator has a more pink-ish gold tone than the High Keys. The latter has slightly bigger lenses but from afar you wouldn’t even notice the difference in size. The main differences between the two aviators are the absence of the little triangles from the High Keys, the bridge, and the weight. The High Keys are heavier than the Think Pink aviators but the quality of the Georgina Sasha aviators are good. They don’t look like they would easily break or wore out.

You can order these sunglasses through www.georginasasha.com! The site is super fun and pretty! You’ll have a lovely time shopping on the website! It has cute designs and has easy navigation. After checking out the item, I received the package after 3 days. The sunglasses were wrapped in 2 soft cases (which felt really nice) and bubble wrap. The box was a little damaged but it didn’t affect the sunglasses as it was well wrapped inside.

quay-x-desi-5

Top – Bottom: Quay x Desi Perkins High Keys in Gold; Think Pink Aviator by Georgina Sasha

These sunglasses are very pretty! It gives off the same impact that the High Keys does. It makes you look really chic and posh! It has its own unique features and color pay offs too! My mom tried this on and she liked it a lot! If you’re going for the exact look of the Quay x Desi High Keys, this is definitely a great dupe! I swear at some angles especially from afar, I couldn’t even distinguish the two.

Taylor (₱399), Thom (₱399), Knox (₱399), or Dixon (₱499) from Sunnies Studios

This aviator is my sister’s which I sometimes borrow. I’m not sure what the name of the sunglasses is as it is not indicated in the sunnies itself so I just indicated in the title all the names on the website that resembles to what my sister owns.

Sunnies Studios is a very popular brand in the Philippines. My sisters and mom usually buy sunglasses from them. They’re very stylish and super affordable! 

quay-x-desi-8

Left – Right: Quay x Desi Perkins High Keys in Gold; Sunnies Studios

With the pair that I borrowed from my sister, it’s a classic aviator frame. Comparing it with the High Keys, it has smaller lenses and lighter in weight too. But if you check the color of the arms & frames, it’s almost the same. The color of the reflective lenses that we have is a rainbow-like one. It really is nice when worn out in the sun as it reflects a really pretty color. The only problem that we usually have with sunglasses from Sunnies Studios is that the wear and tear is not very good. After use at beaches, it rusts and peels so easily. They’re super nice for photos but for long term use, the quality is not so good.

This pair can be considered a dupe for the High Keys just because it has a gold frame, reflective lenses, and a classic aviator frame. You can check their website for more colors and frames. Every pair comes with a quality soft case. I’ve found some items on their website that could resemble and be a good dupe for the Quay High Keys in black.

Luxe Studio Andy Sunglasses (₱399) from BeautyMNL

When I saw all the colors of the Quay x Desi Perkins High Key line, I loved all of them! In that moment, I wanted them all! But after the excitement died down, I decided to choose my favorite! It was really difficult choosing between the gold and black ones. The blue ones are really nice especially during the summer but I feel like it was too out there to wear often.

I loved the black and gold ones equally after readings reviews and watching YouTube videos on it. But in the end, I chose the gold one.

quay-x-desi-4

Top – Bottom: Quay x Desi Perkins High Keys in Gold; Luxe Studio Andy Sunglasses from BeautyMNL

When I was given the opportunity to do a BeautyMNL haul, I found these sunglasses! They are aviators but a lot smaller than the high keys. A review on the website said that this pair is a Ray-Ban dupe. I like these pair because although they are reflective, it is very subtle. It’s not as ‘out there’ as the gold High Keys. When I saw the sunglasses, the word ‘shady’ immediately came into mind. It’s very mysterious and low key.

I feel that these sunglasses will work with any outfit. It has black frames and dark violet lenses. If you’re interested in buying the black High Keys, this is an alternative but this could also be a mini version dupe of the Quay Australia x Amanda Steele Muse sunglasses in Black/Purple.

quay-x-desi-6

Although I like the look of these sunglasses, my first impression on the quality of the sunglasses is just okay. It’s very light and the material feels cheap. I haven’t really tested this out yet so I’m not sure if the price can be justified by its quality. I’ll try to update this post!

When you order through BeautyMNL, shipping in Manila areas takes only one business day! If you order the sunglasses or something else today, you’ll get it tomorrow! When it was delivered, the sunglasses were just placed in a white zip lock plastic and bubble wrapped.

Tokyo (₱1,200) from Sixteen Sunnies

If you read my Shopee mini travel haul, you would know about my new eye wear from Sixteen Sunnies! The pair of sunglasses that I was supposed to get from them was Tokyo Rose which I felt was a close dupe to the Quay x Desi High Keys in gold. Unfortunately, it was out of stock. I got the Manhattan rose instead. This was my second choice because when I saw the photos, it really looked pretty and sweet!

quay-x-desi-2

When I received the Manhattan Rose sunglasses, I really loved them! The reflected lens was so mesmerizing under bright lights! The sort of cat-eye design is really stylish and cool as well. The only issue I have with the pair is with its arms as I feel a kitchen utensil vibe from it. I love the lenses though! The seller informed me that she gets her stock from an Australian supplier which also supplies for Shevoke.com! What’s good about these sunglasses as well is that it has UV400 protection.

If you browse through their website or Shopee account and chance upon stocks of the Tokyo line, check out the black and silver ones too as I feel these are good dupes for the Quay x Desi High Keys in black. For every order, it comes with the sunglasses and a soft case.

quay-x-desi-3

Do you have dupes for the Quay x Desi High Keys? Share them in the comments! 

NOTE: This list will be updated from time to time when I acquire a new pair that I feel could be considered an alternative or dupe of the High Key sunglasses. I will also update the wear and tear or quality of each of the sunglasses indicated after multiple uses or as deemed necessary to provide you a full genuine review. Please consider that my experiences with these sunglasses may or may not be the same as yours.

For reference (as of FEB 2017):

USD1 = ₱49.80

AUD1 = ₱38.16

The sunglasses mentioned in this article were received as gifts from friends, sponsored by a brand, or borrowed from a family member. All opinions are inspired by my experiences and nothing else.

 

 

2 thoughts on “SERIES: Quay Australia x Desi Perkins High Key Sunglasses Review + Dupes

Comments

