SERIES: Travel Gratefully With Lagu

‘Travel Gratefully’ is a series of special or sponsored write ups that add more value and gratitude during my travels. The topics cover unique grateful experiences with specific people, things, places, and many others. For sponsored write ups, all are inspired by my experiences and nothing else. All posted articles are deemed worthy and in line with the main goal of this blog series which is to inspire MORE grateful travelling.

A few months ago, someone posted a photo on a Facebook travel group that received a lot of backlash. The photo showed tourists taking home 2 big glass bottles full of sand from a Batangas beach. When I was a kid, my uncle had a shelf full of bottles filled with sand from all the beaches he went to. I was at awe of the collection back then but a few years and so many beach trips later, I saw how wrong it was.

I understand why people were commenting so negatively because I feel that the sand belongs to the beach and the beach only. We should leave it as it is!

But sometimes, most people don’t realize that we inadvertently remove sand from the beach too. When we swim at the beach and go to our hotel to take a shower, there is a lot of sand inside our swim wear that just flows down the bathroom drain. The clothes that we wear to the beach and pack up later sometimes have sand stuck to them and we only realize it when we get home. When I go to the beach and have my socks and rubber shoes on, there is sand that gets in them and I sometimes only remove them when I’m home or far away from the beach already.

Others can argue that with these type of situations, ‘konti lang naman, marami namang sand sa mundo!’ Millions of people go to the beach every year. What if all those people think that way? We may see sand as something infinite but if we choose to keep seeing it that way and continue to let go of the ‘little things’ like some of the situations I mentioned above, our beaches won’t be the same for future generations to come.

In our own little ways, we owe it to the beach to protect and save it in any way that we can. Beaches are some of the best places we go to. It’s simple yet so grand. It’s one of our best go-to vacation spots. The beach lets us enjoy and relax. Let’s return the favor by protecting and saving it as much as we can.

Travel Gratefully with Lagu (2)

Lagu is one of many brands that promote sustainability efforts for the environment specifically the beach. The brand wants to be a part of the solution by offering beach friendly alternatives to common beach towels. The team was kind enough to send me a few of their products to test out!

When the team sent me the items and read up on a few details about them, it made me really realize the little things that I do that can have harmful long term effects to the beach. I really love beaches. It’s one of my favorite places in the world! I will always be grateful for it! Being near one always makes me happy. I should have realized sooner that even small acts that I do can affect it negatively.

I had a recent trip to El Nido and got to use 2 out of the 3 products that they sent me! Here’s my review:

Lagu Beach Bag (₱299)

I really like this bag! It definitely had that beach-y and island vibe and feel to it! It really looks nice and perfect for use at the beach. What I love about this bag is that it’s very spacious and it doesn’t look too big as well. It’s just the right size and what’s cool about it is that I can place so many things in it without the bag looking too heavy or big! I also like the material. Aside from being sand repellent, I don’t think this product would tear easily.

I used this as my carry-on and beach bag during my whole El Nido trip. When I placed this on the sand, it did repel most of it when I picked it up but had to pat it 2-3 times before all the sand was gone. I checked inside it too and there was no sand. While getting on and off the tour boats, it got wet a few times but it dried quickly.

This is definitely a good buy! Given the price, its function, the cause of the brand, the quality of the material, and its style, the Lagu Beach Bag is definitely a steal!

Travel Gratefully with Lagu (4)

Lagu Beach Blanket (₱999) & Bolsillos (₱1,199)

I got to use the Lagu Beach Blanket during one of our day tour stops – Entalula Island. I laid this on the sand, put our stuff on it, and played with the waves of the beach. We got a lot of sand on the blanket and I got it wet when I came back from the water. When I lifted it up, a lot of sand did fall but there was still a few left on the blanket so I had to shake it off a few times. Not as many as I would with a towel or other rough blankets. It was also easy to fold and pack up.

Back at the resort, I spread it again to let it dry. There were still a few wet spots but not as wet as it was back at the island. Examining it closely like an OC person, there were still a few specs of sand especially on the wet parts but it wasn’t really noticeable. I went to the bathroom for a few minutes and when I went out to the balcony, the wet blanket spots were already dry. Back at the beach, I put it in the bag immediately so I think it just needed a good air dry.

Travel Gratefully with Lagu

I didn’t get to use the Bolsillos blanket because we were at a private island and I didn’t feel the need to use it. I like the Bolsillos one because it has strategically-placed pockets and compartments to keep your valuables safe.

Whenever my family and I are at the beach, there’s always one person that has to stay behind at the shore to look after our stuff. When I’m alone, I always have to look back at the shore every 2-3 minutes to make sure that my stuff is still there. To lessen the worry, you can place your valuables inside the compartments and just let the blanket face down. If someone tries to swipe something while passing by, they’ll miss the most important things. But this is just for the worst case scenario.

The compartments can also be used for items that you don’t want to get wet easily or get stray sand on especially when you’re just lounging on the beach.

NOTE: I’ll update this part of the article when I get to use the Bolsillos blanket on my next beach trip so make sure to come back to this post for that!

These blankets are very easy to fold and store. It is very light and only requires a small space so you don’t have to worry about packing these products!

What I love about these blankets is that it is multi-purpose. I prefer bringing just a few things when I go to the beach so when I have a product that acts as a blanket, a towel, a shawl, a table cloth, and I’m sure it can also be used as those multi-purpose dresses or tops that you can just wrap around your body and tie up, it’s definitely a must-have! The fact that this blanket can dry quickly can also be a good factor to use as all of those things mentioned. After you use it as a beach blanket, you can dry yourself up with it as a towel. After it dries, you can use it as a shawl or blanket to keep you warm.

I know that this can probably work with a lot of beach blankets but I also have to give credit to the material of Lagu’s products. It’s of quality, stylish, comfortable, dries quickly, and most importantly, sand repellent. 

I watched an episode of “Adam Ruins Everything” where the host said that it’s not enough for one person to use green products and immediately assume that he or she is saving the earth. You also have to communicate your environmental efforts to others and make them realize that they should be doing the same. I am not perfect. I’m sure that there are things that I do every single day that harms the environment. But realizing these mistakes and taking small steps to make them right is worth something. Let’s all try to support sustainability efforts and promote it to as many people as we can.

If you’re looking for good beach blankets and bags, Lagu is definitely one of the options you should check out during your next haul of summer essentials!

Travel Gratefully with Lagu (3)

Visit Lagu TODAY! 

For more information on Lagu products, visit their website at www.lifeonthesands.com or inquire at info@lifeonthesands.com

For brand updates and promos, follow Lagu’s social media accounts:

FB: https://www.facebook.com/lifeonthesands

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lifeonthesands

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lifeonthesands

Lagu items are available for purchase at:

ONLINE

STORES RESORTS

AUTHORIZED RESELLERS

AVA
www.ava.ph
Amazon
www.amazon.com

The Grommet
www.thegrommet.com

Hip Van
www.hipvan.com

The Luxe Resort
www.theluxeresort.com

Lazada
www.lazada.com.ph

South Sartorial
www.southsartorial.com

Zalora
www.zalora.com.ph

 

Rustan’s

R.O.X.

Flights 001

Islands & More

Nothing But H20

Columbia

The Travel Club

Quicksilver

Chris Sports

Bratpack

Grind

Maui

Common Thread

Deuter

Swim Designer Swimwear

District 32

Roxy

The Wander Space

Kiss & Fly

For the list of branches, please check Lagu’s website.

 

 

 

Boracay – Shangri-la, Discovery Shores, Ambassador in Paradise, Frendz, Mandala

La Union – San Juan Surf Resort, Thunderbird

Bohol – Amorita, Momo Beach House

El Nido – Apulit, Miniloc, and Lagen Islands

Palawan – Amanpulo, The Funny Lion Inn, Dos Palmas

Batangas – Punta Fuego, Pico De Loro

Bacolod – Punta Bulata

Bataan – Anvaya Cove

Cebu – Alegre

Siargao – Buddha’s Surf Resort

Dumaguete – Sta Monica Beach Resort

Surfista Travels

www.surfistatravels.com

FlowSurfYogaSamba 

www.flowsurfyogasamba.com

Muni 

www.muni.com.ph

TravelYoung 

facebook.com/TravelYoungPH

 

This is a sponsored review. All opinions are inspired by my experiences and nothing else. 

 

 

One thought on “SERIES: Travel Gratefully With Lagu

Comments

